Brown – Pressure on Wigan

Nathan BrownSt Helens (6/4 to be winning at half-time) boss Nathan Brown believes his side will go into Saturday’s Grand Final against Wigan Warriors without any pressure on their shoulders.

The two fierce rivals will meet at Old Trafford in what is expected to be a close game due to the recent form of both teams.

Saints (10/11 – +8 Handicap Betting) won the League Leaders’ Shield despite struggling without a number of key players, and managed to hold on with Wigan, Castleford, Huddersfield and Warrington all breathing down their neck.

Brown will still be without Jonny Lomax and Luke Walsh but the coach believes the experience of Paul Wellens, James Roby and Jon Wilkin will stand them in good stead.

Wigan are looking to win their second title on the bounce, but Brown believes his players have nothing to lose with Wigan expected to lift the trophy.

He told the club’s official website: “No one is tipping us; there isn’t a soul that is backing us.

“From a pressure point of view there isn’t any on us as no one is expecting us to win. A few weeks ago Wigan would have rubbed their hands at playing us in a Grand Final.

“Well, this squad didn’t believe what people were saying and now we are here. We will be giving it our best shot. We are tipping ourselves.

“Winning the League Leaders’ Shield and making the Grand Final… I think the boys are winners already.

“Not one person in England thought we would win the Shield and not one person thought we would be here. We have defied a lot of people with what we have done without some of our more influential players.

“Credit must go to Paul Wellens, James Roby and Jon Wilkin; those blokes that came through the successful era. They have shown great desire and spirit and it has rubbed off on everyone.”

No Comments

Be the first to comment.

Leave a Comment


Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited, trading as Betfred, is licensed by the Government of Gibraltar, licence numbers 036 & 038
Copyright © 2009 Petfre (Gibraltar) Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Contact Us | Authors