Wiggins wants new Team Sky deal

Bradley WigginsAhead of his bid to win the Tour of Britain, Sir Bradley Wiggins has revealed he is close to agreeing a new contract with Team Sky (Wiggins – Tour of Britain Outright – 9/2).

The 2012 Tour de France winner and Great Britain Olympic hero is among the leading fancies for the Tour of Britain, which begins with the first stage in Liverpool today, along with the likes of Michal Kwiatkowski (4/1f – Tour of Britain Outright), Ion Izagirre (8/1) and Nicholas Roche (7/1).

Wiggins confirmed before the event got underway that he hopes to sign a new contract with Team Sky as his current deal expires at the end of the season.

The 34-year-old was rumoured to be keen on a move away from the British team after he was left out of their line-up for this summer’s Tour de France.

But now he says he is targeting the team pursuit at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro and thinks staying where is will give him the best chance of more success.

Wiggins told Sky Sports News: “We are trying to structure how it will work. I never really wanted to leave this team in all honesty. I would never feel really comfortable anywhere else, so I would always endeavour to stay here.

“There was a lot of talk in the summer and everything else. We are just trying to iron out the detail of how it would look.”

Wiggins was one of the founding members on Team Sky in 2010 after joining from Garmin-Slipstream.

Following the Tour of Britain this week, Wiggins will go for time trial gold at the UCI Road World Championships in Spain. Further afield it is unclear if Wiggins will get a ride in next year’s Tour de France, for which he is currently a 66/1 shot, way behind market leader and fellow Team Sky star Chris Froome (15/8f – Tour de France 2015 Outright).

No Comments

Be the first to comment.

Leave a Comment


Petfre (Gibraltar) Limited, trading as Betfred, is licensed by the Government of Gibraltar, licence numbers 036 & 038
Copyright © 2009 Petfre (Gibraltar) Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Contact Us | Authors